Sunday, 24 July 2016

Filament Review #23 - extrude.ltd PLA sample pack

Filament Review #23 - extrude.ltd




My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.

As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Sunday, 3 July 2016

Blog Update #10 - Blog/Life Update

Blog Update #10 - Blog/Life Update



My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Monday, 20 June 2016

Filament Review #22 - colorFabb Range

Filament Review #22 - colorFabb Range





My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.

As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 


Sunday, 22 May 2016

Blog Update #9 - What's coming up in June/July 2016

Blog Update #9 - What's coming up in June/July 2016




My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Saturday, 7 May 2016

NFire 1 3D Printer - Build, Overview & First Impressions

NFire 1 3D Printer - Build, Overview & First Impressions


My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Sunday, 1 May 2016

FLEKS 3D Build Plate - Unboxing, Review & Modification

FLEKS 3D Build Plate - Unboxing, Review & Modification


My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Tuesday, 26 April 2016

Time-lapse Tuesday #1 - Obi Wan Lightsaber

Time-lapse Tuesday #1 - Obi Wan Lightsaber


My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Tuesday, 19 April 2016

Unboxing #2 - ColorFabb Filament Samples

Unboxing #2 - ColorFabb Filament Samples



My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Unboxing #1 - NFire 1 3D Printer Unboxing

Unboxing #1 - NFire 1 3D Printer Unboxing



My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Saturday, 2 April 2016

Blog Update #8 - YouTube channel update

Blog Update #8 - YouTube channel update





My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Saturday, 20 February 2016

Blog Update #7

Blog Update #7

Hi everyone,

Firstly again sorry for just another Blog update.

Due to personal reasons I will be taking a short break from posting Blog Posts. I will however post the occasional YouTube video when I use my printer.

In the mean time I will be working on a few things and have posts ready to publish when I return, at the moment this return to posting Blog Posts will be around the end of March 2016 so keep an eye on my media links (See below).

Here is my most recent print, a 3D Printed Modifi3D tool stand.




My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions. 

Monday, 8 February 2016

Filament Review #21 - Fillamentum Range

Filament Review #21 - Fillamentum Range


So this today's filament review is of a range of filaments from Fillamentum, I was contacted by them and asked if I would like to review some new filaments they plan on bring to the market as well as some of their excellent range currently available.

Two of the filaments only came to me with the names Blend 01 & 03, So other than knowing they are PLA I know nothing of there mixture. I also received Flexfill 98, Flexfill 92 & a sample of their Copolyester.

I be testing all the filaments using the same model and a usual that will be the 3D Benchy

Flexfill 92

Fillamentum's website lists only my sample of Flexfill 98 as currently available so I guess that means the Flexfill 92 is a new product so lets start with that and unfortunately I didn't have much success with it, it was just to flexible for my printers. Even with a flexible adaptor for the Printrbot I got kinks around the filament gear.

Setting for Flexfill 92 were.

Nozzle Diameter: 0.35mm
Extruder Temp: 210°C
Layer Height: 0.3mm
Perimeter Shells: 2
Top Solid Layers: 3
Bottom Solid Layers: 3
Infill: 15%
Cooling: Enabled
Retraction: Enabled (Speed: 30mm/s Distance: 1mm)
Support: None
Extrusion Multiplier: 0.95

Print Speeds:


Print Speed: 40mm/s

Outline Underspeed: 30%
Solid Infill Underspeed: 80%
X/Y Axis Speed: 80mm/s
Z Axis Speed: 16.6mm/s

And the best result I could get looks like this.






As you can see not great although the layers do look better with the naked eye. They filament once printed is very flexible compared with other flexible filaments I have printed 3D Benchy's in.

On to the next filament.

Flexfill 98

And then I printed with the other flexible filament Flexfill 98, which is currently available on Fillamentum's website for a price of €33.95 for a 500g spool.

This flexible filament wasn't as flexible straight from the bag and I would say is comparable to SemiFlex from NinjaFlex.  

I used the same setting as with the Flexfill 92.

Nozzle Diameter: 0.35mm
Extruder Temp: 210°C
Layer Height: 0.3mm
Perimeter Shells: 2
Top Solid Layers: 3
Bottom Solid Layers: 3
Infill: 15%
Cooling: Enabled
Retraction: Enabled (Speed: 30mm/s Distance: 1mm)
Support: None
Extrusion Multiplier: 0.95

Print Speeds:


Print Speed: 40mm/s

Outline Underspeed: 30%
Solid Infill Underspeed: 80%
X/Y Axis Speed: 80mm/s
Z Axis Speed: 16.6mm/s

And the resulting 3D Benchy looked like this.





As you can see this is better however this time I experienced poor layer adhesion between the layers, meaning some layer have split away from each other.  

On to the next filament.

Copolyester

OK on to another new filament from what I can tell, this was labelled as PET on the bag I received but Copolyester in the email communication I had with Fillamentum, I thought PET & Copolyester were different filaments so I not use if the bag was labelled wrong or the email but I'll assume for this blog post I have Copolyester.

This actually printed really nicely and even at .3mm layer height it looks great, again the close up picture shows it in a bad light.

Setting again where very much the same just and increase in temperature from 210°C to 245°C (recommended temp was 255-260°C but the Materia 101 extruder has a max of 250°C)

Nozzle Diameter: 0.35mm
Extruder Temp: 210°C
Layer Height: 0.3mm
Perimeter Shells: 2
Top Solid Layers: 3
Bottom Solid Layers: 3
Infill: 15%
Cooling: Enabled
Retraction: Enabled (Speed: 30mm/s Distance: 1mm)
Support: None
Extrusion Multiplier: 0.95

Print Speeds:


Print Speed: 40mm/s

Outline Underspeed: 30%
Solid Infill Underspeed: 80%
X/Y Axis Speed: 80mm/s
Z Axis Speed: 16.6mm/s

And the resulting 3D Benchy looked like this.







As you can see it looks good and I love a clear filament so I'm really happy with out this came out, I going to print something on my Printrbot and UBIS 13S to print at the recommended temp.

OK on to the last 2 filaments Blend 01 & 03.

Blend 01 & 03

OK like I said, other than these being a new PLA mix and a printing temperature of 190 - 210°C I know nothing more about them.

So again and for the last time the setting were all the same as before.

Nozzle Diameter: 0.35mm
Extruder Temp: 210°C
Layer Height: 0.3mm
Perimeter Shells: 2
Top Solid Layers: 3
Bottom Solid Layers: 3
Infill: 15%
Cooling: Enabled
Retraction: Enabled (Speed: 30mm/s Distance: 1mm)
Support: None
Extrusion Multiplier: 0.95

Print Speeds:


Print Speed: 40mm/s

Outline Underspeed: 30%
Solid Infill Underspeed: 80%
X/Y Axis Speed: 80mm/s
Z Axis Speed: 16.6mm/s

And the resulting 3D Benchy's looked like this.


Blend 01





Blend 03




So actually the 3D Benchy for Blend 03 was printed in 0.2mm layer height as I was playing with the setting and the machine in general.

But never the less both printed fine and came out well, I feel the Blend 03 print had a slight issue in the sense that the filament was harder/more brittle and actually cracked alone one of the layer when I was removing it from the print bed.

So overall some nice filaments, with the only trouble being Flexfill 92 being to felxible for my set-up any readers have some suggestions for things to try and get a full print?

Flexfill 98 had layer adhesion issues, again could be a set-up issue.

Copolyester came out great and other than trying to print at the recommended temperature, it's a filament I would use again for sure.

And lastly Blend 01 & 03 both printed fine at 210°C with Blend 03 just having the issue above and actually Blend 01 printed and looks great another filament to look for in the future.

So It just leaves me to say thanks to Fillamentum for sending me the filaments to test and I will continue to use up the samples they send and will report back with any more finds if they come up.

Thanks for reading and watching my review.



James.


UNTIL NEXT TIME ON 3D PRINTING REVIEWS, KEEP ON PRINTING.






If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions.

Sunday, 31 January 2016

Blog Update #6

Blog Update #6

Hi everyone,

Firstly sorry for just another Blog update and sorry for not posting last weekend. 

New 3D Printer

The reason for the delay is simple I've been busy building another 3D Printer my Arduino Materia 101 (Sharebot Kiwi), It took longer than planned due to a part being completely missing from the kit and then chasing round trying to get that part sent out but I happy to report that Sharebot very kindly sent out a replacement part and as I type I'm currently printing on the Arduino Materia 101 (Sharebot Kiwi).

I'll be writing a whole blog post for the build soon, once I have some other filament reviews done, that are currently over due.

Another New 3D Printer

I heard this week that the NFire1 3D Printer I backed on Kickstarter, Is very close to being shipped and should be with me in just a few weeks, This is great news and well done to Alex and the rest of the at NFire Labs for a so far very successful campaign. I will also be posting a building post for the NFire 1 and once the forums for the NFire 1 are up I be an active user over there.  



Print-a-Week

So I haven't really been keeping up with this in the sense of posting a blog but I have been printing a print, I've just finished printing the excellent "Smartphone Photo Studio for #3DBenchy and tiny stuff" by CreativeTools. I found getting consistent photo's a right pain and this solves it, it has a printed part just made to hold the 3DBenchy and uses a smart phone as the camera which is held at the same distance each time.

Here's a few photo's of the printed "Smartphone Photo Studio".





It even has a place to add a paper backdrop. This will be getting a lot of use in the coming weeks.

My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).

I'm also working on a new intro for my YouTube videos and generally making them better so look out for that soon to.
So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions.







Monday, 18 January 2016

Filament Review #20 - rigid.ink PETG

Filament Review #20 - rigid.ink PETG



In a previous filament review, I reviewed rigid.ink PLA & ABS and commented on all the filaments they sold and today I'm back with a review of their PETG filament.

Their PETG filament is available in 6 colours and can be purchased from here. I took up an offer rigid.ink were running of a free sample of their PETG filament but normally a 10m sample only cost £3.45 & a 1KG spool costs £31.95 + P&P.

Here's what rigid.ink have to say about their PETG filament.

"Our PETG is unmatched. Strong and durable like ABS, but odorless and easy to print with like PLA. Like all rigid.ink filaments, we've tested our PETG extensively to ensure layer-to layer bond is exceptional, and layer separation isn't something you need to worry about. 

We became so tired of the hordes of terrible quality PETG 3D printer filaments flooding the market, we decided to release our own. You need an PETG flexible filament you can rely on, something that won't ever jam your head and produce flawless prints, every time.

Accurately represented colours, near-perfect tolerances and excellent raw material quality was our aim. It wasn't easy, but we're confident we've produced a 3D printer filament to be proud of. In fact, we'd be surprised if you found better."

So let's get on with this review and take a look at the filament in more detail. I selected the green coloured filament






As you can see the filament has transparent quality to it, this wasn't clear when I ordered the sample as the colour pictures on the website show a solid colour but I like the transparent look. The sample was 10m in length and in a clear plastic bag with silica gel packet, and this came in a rigid.ink branded zip lock bag bigger enough for a spool which I thought was a nice touch.

So let's print something, as always I'll be printing the 3D Benchy from CreativeTools. The recommended temperature for the filament is between 230°C - 250°C and a bed temperature of 80°C.

The settings used in Simplify3D are:

Nozzle Diameter: 0.4mm
Extruder Temp: 240°C
Layer Height: 0.2064mm
Perimeter Shells: 2
Top Solid Layers: 3
Bottom Solid Layers: 3
Infill: 15%
Cooling: Enabled
Retraction: Enabled (Speed: 30mm/s Distance: 0.3mm)
Support: None
Extrusion Multiplier: 0.95

Print Speeds:

Print Speed: 60mm/s
Outline Underspeed: 30%
Solid Infill Underspeed: 80%
X/Y Axis Speed: 150mm/s
Z Axis Speed: 16.6mm/s

And here's the result in both picture and video form.





And a time lapse too



So I found the PETG filament from rigid.ink printed really nicely with no problems at the recommend temperatures. It was indeed odorless as stated, however I did experience slight layer separation of the bottom layers but this could have been an issue with my printer.

Overall I'm very happy with the filament and would look to print with it again in the future.


Thanks for reading and watching my review.



James.


UNTIL NEXT TIME ON 3D PRINTING REVIEWS, KEEP ON PRINTING.




If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions.

Saturday, 9 January 2016

Product Review #3 Printrbot Ubis 13S Hotend & 1mm Nozzle

Printrbot Ubis 13S Hotend & 1mm Nozzle




So as I explained in my last blog update I was lucky enough to be sent a new metal Ubis 13S hotend by Printrbot. They also sent a 1mm nozzle and that's what I will mostly be using with the Ubis 13S as I have a .4mm nozzle in my 2nd extruder.

Fitting the Ubis 13s was an easy job just remove one screw holding the existing hotend in and un-clip two cables and then just do the reverse with the new Ubis 13S, of course those of us with auto levelling then have to re calibrate but that is also an easy job and explained well on the Printrbot Support site.

And once fitted here's what my new Ubis 13S hotend looks like, on the right you will see the Ceramic Ubis hotend I have used up to now.



So 1 question people may be asking is why use a metal hotend? Well firstly printing temp, the ceramic Ubis hotend is good to about 240°C fine for most filament but filaments like Nylon, PET+, Tritan, and Polycarbonate all print above 240°C and the Ubis 13S is good to 270°C and a Ubis 13P dual heat core is due soon and is good to 300°C.

The next question people may have is why use a 1mm nozzle, wont the layers be really visible? And the answer is lower print times and yes you will be able to see the layers, but sometimes that's not a bad thing.

Check out this Candy Bowl I printed with a .6mm layer height, you can clearly see the layer lines but it adds to the visual of the print.






With a print time of around 55min @ .6mm layer height, it's much faster than if I had done it @ .2mm layer height which would be around 2.5hr.

Here's a short time lapse of this Candy Bowl and a Blue I printed to finish off. 

The Candy Bowls are by CreativeTools via Thingiverse.

Candy Bowl.




My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).


Thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.



James.


NEXT ON 3D FILAMENT REVIEWS..... 

Filament Review of 1.75mm PETG from Rigid.ink


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions.


Sunday, 3 January 2016

Blog Update #5

Blog Update #5

Hello everyone,

Happy New Year to all my readers, welcome to the first post of 2016 and another blog update.

The reason for another update is simple, I have news of some new 3D printer equipment I've been sent and the first Print-a-week doesn't have a time lapse (Explained below) so rather than a short post I thought I'd combine them.

So first off.


Printrbot Ubis 13S Hotend & Nozzle

At the start of December Printrbot CEO Brook Drumm, sent out a tweet asking if anyone wanted to test the new Ubis 13S Hotend, now Printrbot is based in the US so for me to see this tweet was lucky due to time difference, but as luck would have it I did and I jumped at the chance. So after a few weeks and Christmas delaying the post a bit and shiny new hotend arrived and I was quick to get it installed.

The install was really quick just remove one screw holding the existing hotend in and un-clip two cables and then just do the reverse with the new Ubis 13S, of course those of us with auto levelling then have to re calibrate but Printrbot support website makes this a quick job.

The Ubis 13S is supplied with a .4mm nozzle same as the old hotend Printrbot use, but Brook also wanted something else testing a 1mm nozzle!!! Oh yes you read that correctly a 1MM NOZZLE, So I fitted straight away and plan on printing so big prints with it soon.

So far I've only printed a small test print and had two failed 3D Benchy's, they failed because of layer shift but I think I've fixed that issue, but I'll continue to test the new Ubis 13S and 1mm nozzle in the coming weeks.

Here's a shot of it installed in my Dual Extruder Printrbot Metal Plus.




Print-a-Week

So this weeks Print-a-Week doesn't have a time lapse because it was a new Pi Camera mount and I had already disconnected the camera before starting the print.

The reason for the new mount is because the old one I used was to close to the extruder's when it runs the auto levelling and because the cables for the extruder's poke out the front they would hit the camera and knock it out of the way, which really annoyed me.

So off I went to Thingiverse to find a better mount and I found one, a design by Solenoid RPi and camera support for Printrbot. The mount was made for the Printrbot Simple Maker's Kit (1405) but it work great for my Metal Plus.

And here it is printed and attached to the printer.






My Media Links

And just a reminder of all the ways to see and read my content.


As well as the YouTube channel I also have a Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. Please feel free to visit all of these and like, comment and subscribe ;-).


So that's all for now, thanks for reading and until next time keep printing.


James.


If any of my readers have some suggestions on ways to achieve better results with prints or on the format of my review please comment below, I'll gladly try out your suggestions.